IMG_5080-001

This is what happened when I asked the girls to come sit by me and take a picture. I am pretty sure they heard, "climb on Mom like she is a jungle gym."

This is what happened when I asked the girls to come sit by me and take a picture. I am pretty sure they heard, “climb on Mom like she is a jungle gym.”


IMG_5087
IMG_5046
IMG_5054
IMG_5070
This post is a little late because when both of your kid’s birthdays are sandwiched on either side of Mother’s Day, they take precedence. Isn’t that how it always is? I have such a greater appreciation for my own mother now that I have kids of my own, and I am only just beginning to realize what this long journey down the road as “the selfless mother” entails. For example just last week I had the whole family ready for the beach and when we finally made it to the beach I realized I was wearing nothing that resembled beach attire and was sweating to death. It’s little things on a daily basis, like when we are all at the park and the kids have sunscreen and hats on and I think, “if only I had remembered to just grab my sunglasses.” So this Mother’s Day Tim let me take some time for myself. Being that we are on what I will call “we are crazy and building a house” budget, all I asked from Tim this year was to sleep in and for him to wash my car. You can hear the breakfast conversation from our kitchen table in our bedroom due to our pint sized rental right now, so Tim took the kids out of the house and I slept until 8AM! I am pretty sure the last time I slept until 8AM was three years ago (pre-kids)! It was glorious! We had a picnic at our favorite park in town and just enjoyed hanging out together. Then I took an afternoon nap! Needless to say I could not fall asleep that night because my sleep bank was full.

