A lot of people have asked me if I miss teaching lately….and lately that answer is yes. I really did work for one of the most amazing schools and with one of the most close knit group of teachers I have ever met. When you eat lunch with the same handful of people every day for eight years you miss them. It was a rare day when one of us wasn’t sitting around the lunch room table, probably because once we actually sat down, there was no time to go anywhere or do anything in the 20 min that were left except scarf down our lunches, laugh at a good joke, or catch one another up on the latest houdini act in our classrooms. I remember leaving school once attempting to run an errand and realizing how often I forget life exists outside of the walls of Old Mission School. I was actually shocked how many people were out and couldn’t figure out why on earth they weren’t all tied to their jobs never leaving their confines of employment during lunch. Oh the life of a teacher… And now the tide has turned. I am one of those people driving around! I met up with Tim today for lunch in Cayucos. Sidenote: He lives the opposite life of that of a teacher cruising up the coastline today in a Cal Trans van checking out where the road is eroding into the ocean up near Big Sur. (rough job)  So anyway, Tim wanted me to join him at Ruddell’s Smokehouse. Amazing smoked albacore! Apparently Bobby Flay has raved about it recently and it was in the Sept. issue of Sunset Magazine. It was delicious. Of course we couldn’t pass up the Brown Butter Cookie Co. while we were there. If you haven’t been there, you have to go. The weather was beautiful, Mia was sleeping in the front pack, and I realized how lucky I am to be strolling down the pier on a Wednesday during lunch. Of course reality set in on the way home when she whined the whole way! And that’s when I was ready to get back to the lunch table with my coworkers.

