Lately, not only my belly has been swelling like a balloon, but I have been noticing this last week that the joints in my fingers have really been hurting. The last few nights when I am sleeping I am constantly waking up in pain because my hands have fallen asleep. I guess it is from swelling. Nobody mentioned anything about this pregnancy malady. Does this happen to anyone else? Apparently my fingers have been swelling over time and I have been too busy to notice. But this morning when I woke up I needed to get my wedding ring off. I was in pain. I had been wondering if I was going to have to take my ring off when I got to the hospital, if that was common protocol, or if I would be allowed to leave it on. Apparently I wasn’t thinking straight because this morning made me wonder how on earth I thought I was going to leave my ring on for another month. Tim and I tried everything to get the ring off this morning. The Internet is full of ideas. We tried windex, soap, lotion, the hand in an ice bath (the most painful method), the dental floss trick, etc. Tim knew nothing was going to work from the beginning by the bulging size of my ring finger, but he never mentioned that to me. The last resort was probably going to be to cut my ring off. Luckily we know many fire fighters in the area and called them up for their advice. I really didn’t want to go to the ER and spend $300 to have my ring cut off. So we went down to our local Paso station and had our friend Jeremy cut off my ring. Thank goodness he was on duty. Between the ring cutter and the pliers, it was pretty painful. I’m sure Tim was in pain as he watched my ring being cut in two with gold flakes just falling to the ground. Apparently Tim is very aware of the high price of gold right now. Who knew? He did mention wanting to collect the flakes on the floor once or twice. My hope is that someday when this ring gets put back together, we’ll just switch the gold out for plantinum. Wouldn’t that be nice? I’m just happy the ring is off. My finger is quite red, swollen, and still in pain but it was worth it to cut it off. So I would suffice it to say that I spent a pretty eventful morning as my first morning of official maternity leave.

Lessons learned:

1. Pregnant ladies, take off your rings now! It hits you overnight.

2. Get to know your local fire fighters. You never know when they will come in handy.

3. The price of gold is quite high right now. It’s time to take your old jewelry to the pawn shop.

